2016 IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award: Professor Zhi-Hua Zhou

The IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award is the highest recognition for service achievements in Data Mining, and is given to one individual or one group who has made major service contributions that have promoted Data Mining as a field and ICDM as the world's premier research conference in Data Mining. The 2016 IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award goes to Dr. Zhi-Hua Zhou, Professor of Computer Science at Nanjing University.

Zhi-Hua Zhou is a Cheung Kong Professor at Nanjing University, a Fellow of the AAAI and IEEE. He has a long history of promoting ICDM and the field of data mining. He has been actively involved in ICDM as an author, reviewer, and organizer. He has served as General Co-Chair (2016), Program Co-Chair (2015), Workshop Co-Chair (2014), and Program Vice Chair (2006, 2008, 2011, 2013, 2014).

Professor Zhou serves the broader data mining community as well. He serves as Executive Editor-in-Chief of the Frontiers of Computer Science and has been on numerous editorial boards, including IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering, Knowledge and Information Systems, ACM Transactions on Intelligent Systems and Technology, and IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems. He has founded ACML, chaired SDM, PAKDD and IJCAI Machine Learning Track, and served as an area chair or a senior program committee member of KDD, NIPS, ICML, and AAAI. He has been a steering committee member of PAKDD and PRICAI, and an advisory committee member of IJCAI. He is also Chair of the IEEE CIS Data Mining Technical Committee.

Professor Zhou has made significant contributions to the research areas of ensemble learning, semi-supervised learning and multi-label learning. He has published over 150 research papers in top-tier venues with impressive numbers of citations, and has supervised 11 PhD students.

2016 IEEE ICDM Nomination and Evaluation Committees

  • Diane Cook (Co-Chair), Washington State University, USA
  • Xindong Wu (Co-Chair), University of Louisiana at Lafayette, USA
  • Charu Aggarwal, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, New York, USA
  • Dimitrios Gunopulos, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
  • David J. Hand, Imperial College, London, UK
  • Ramamohanarao Kotagiri, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Hans-Peter Kriegel, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet Munich, Germany
  • Vipin Kumar, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Jian Pei, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Takashi Washio, Osaka University, Japan
    From Xindong Wu (xwu AT louisiana.edu) on October 8, 2016.