2018 IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award: Professor Bhavani Thuraisingham

The IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award is the highest recognition for service achievements in Data Mining, and is given to one individual or one group who has made major service contributions that have promoted Data Mining as a field and ICDM as the world's premier research conference in Data Mining. The 2018 IEEE ICDM Outstanding Service Award goes to Dr. Bhavani Thuraisingham, Professor of Computer Science at the University of Texas at Dallas (UTD).

Bhavani Thuraisingham is the Louis Beecherl Jr. Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and the Executive Director of UTD's Cyber Security Research nd Education Institute. She is a Fellow of the IEEE and received the IEEE Computer Society's 1997 Technical Achievement Award. She has been part of the ICDM community as an author since 2008. She has also served the ICDM community as General Co-Chair in 2013 and Program Co-Chair in 2018.

Dr. Thuraisingham serves the broader data mining community as well and has been instrumental in applying data mining to cyber security while at MITRE, the National Science Foundation, and UTD. She has served on the editorial boards of several IEEE and ACM Transactions including IEEE Transactions on Knowledge and Data Engineering and ACM Transactions on Management Information Systems. While at NSF, her work focused on applying data mining for cyber and national security and examining the privacy implications and funded several research efforts in this area. While at MITRE, Dr. Thuraisingham was an advisor to the US Government on research in data security and data mining. More recently she has been a strong advocate for Women in Data Science (WiDS) and delivered a featured address at the 2018 WiDS Conference at Stanford University. In addition to her service contributions, Dr. Thuraisingham also contributes to research in the field of data mining applications in cyber security and adversarial machine learning. She has published over 130 journal papers and over 260 conference publications, and has delivered over 140 keynote addresses.

2018 IEEE ICDM Nomination and Evaluation Committees

  • Xindong Wu (Co-Chair), University of Louisiana at Lafayette, USA
  • Hui Xiong (Co-Chair), Rutgers University, USA
  • Charu Aggarwal, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, New York, USA
  • Ramamohanarao Kotagiri, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Vipin Kumar, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Jian Pei, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Takashi Washio, Osaka University, Japan
  • Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University, China
    From Xindong Wu (xwu AT louisiana.edu) on November 2, 2018.